Races heat up

Published 9:41 am Thursday, February 18, 2010

Business is picking up.

Races have developed in the region and in each of the three of the four counties in the Roanoke-Chowan.

A local judicial race will be on the ballot in May as incumbent District Court Judge Alfred W. Kwasikpui will be challenged by Murfreesboro attorney Thomas L. Jones Jr.

U.S. Congressman G.K. Butterfield will also be challenged in his bid for reelection. The Democrat has filed to retain his seat and thus far faces no opposition in the primary election.

So far, however, three candidates have filed for the Republican nomination to the U.S. House of Representatives seat currently held by Rep. Butterfield. Republicans Jerry Grimes of Goldsboro, Ashley Woolard of Washington and John Carter of Wilson have each filed seeking the office.

Another race that has developed is for the North Carolina Senate seat in District Four where incumbent Ed Jones of Enfield will be challenged by James “Tee” Ferguson of Ahoskie.

The United States Senate seat currently held by Richard Burr (R-NC), will also have two primaries as multiple candidates have filed on both the Democratic and Republican sides.

Three Democrats have filed including Marcus W. Williams of Lumberton, Ken Lewis of Chapel Hill and James “Cal” Cunningham of Lexington. On the Republican side, Eddie Burks of Asheboro and Brad Jones of Lake Toxaway have filed. Thus far Senator Burr has not filed.

Libertarian candidate Michael Beitler has also filed for U.S. Senate.

In Bertie County, there are now four candidates vying for the office of Sheriff – two Democrats and two Republicans.

Derrick Wayne “D.W.” Knox of Windsor will seek the Republican nomination for sheriff against Brian Knowles, who filed earlier. On the Democratic side, incumbent Sheriff John B. Holley Jr. is being challenged by former Bertie County Deputy Sheriff Eddie Graham Jr.

Republicans are also starting to file in Northampton County as former sheriff John C. Wood has filed for the Northampton County Commissioner seat in District 4. Incumbent Commissioner Robert V. Carter, a Democrat, has also filed to retain the District 4 seat.

In Gates County, Incumbent Commissioner Kenneth Jernigan has filed for re-election. He faces a former Gates County Commissioner as Marsha Langston has again thrown her name into the political arena. Langston was the District 3 Commissioner until losing the 2006 election to Jernigan.

There will also be a race in District One where two candidates are vying to replace the retiring Carlton Nickens.

Jack Owens has filed to seek the Democratic nomination for the seat while Jim Miller will seek the office as a Republican.

No races have developed in Hertford County thus far though all incumbents have filed to retain their posts.

Those who have filed for office include; (I) denotes incumbent:

North Carolina:

U.S. Senate (D): Marcus Williams, Ken Lewis, Cal Cunningham;

U.S. Senate (R): Eddie Burks, Brad Jones;

U.S. House District I (D): G.K. Butterfield (I);

U.S. House District I (R): Jerry Grimes, Ashley Woolard, John Carter;

N.C. Senate District IV (D): Ed Jones (I), Tee Ferguson;

N.C. House District V (D): Annie W. Mobley (I).

Judicial District 6B:

District Court Judge (Kwasikpui Seat): Alfred W. Kwasikpui (I), Thomas Jones;

District Court Judge (Lewis Seat): W. Rob Lewis II

District Attorney: Valerie Mitchell Asbell (I)

Bertie County:

Commissioner District 2 (D): Rick Harrell (I);

Commissioner District 3 (D): J. Wallace Perry (I);

Commissioner District 5 (D): Charles L. Smith (I);

Sheriff (D): John B. Holley Jr. (I); Eddie Graham;

Sheriff (R): Brian Knowles, D.W. Knox;

Clerk of Superior Court (D): John C.P. Tyler (I).

Hertford County:

Commissioner District 1 (D): Johnnie R. Farmer (I);

Commissioner District 2 (D): Curtis A. Freeman (I);

Sheriff (D): Juan Vaughan Sr. (I);

Clerk of Superior Court (D): Shirley Gatling Johnson (I).

Northampton County:

Commissioner District 3 (D): Chester J. Deloatch Sr. (I);

Commissioner District 4 (D): Robert V. Cater (I);

Commissioner District 4 (R): John Wood;

Commissioner District 5 (D): Fannie P. Greene (I), Terrence L. Boone;

Sheriff (D): Wardie P. Vincent Sr. (I);

Clerk of Superior Court (D): Laquitta G. Cooper;

Board of Education: Audrea Bennett, Grace Edwards (I).

Gates County:

Commissioner District 1 (D): Jack Owens;

Commissioner District 1 (R): Jim Miller;

Commissioner District 3 (D): Kenneth Jernigan (I), Marsha Langston

Sheriff (D): Ed Webb (I);

Clerk of Superior Court: Nell Wiggins (I);