Three seek Sheriff’s seat

Published 9:14 am Tuesday, February 9, 2010

It didn’t take long for races to develop in two counties in the Roanoke-Chowan region.

Both current Bertie County Sheriff John Holley and Northampton County Board of Commissioners Chairperson Fannie P. Greene will see opposition in the upcoming primary election.

Holley filed to be elected to his first full term in office Monday after being appointed to the post Friday, but already faces opposition. Eddie Graham, a former detective with the sheriff’s department who also sought to be appointed to the post, has filed to face Holley for the Democratic nomination.

Whoever is successful with the Democratic bid in May, however, will face competition in November as Republican Brian Knowles has also filed to seek the office of sheriff.

Greene filed to be reelected to her post Monday and also faces opposition after just one day of filing. Terrence L. Boone of Garysburg has filed to run against Greene for the Democratic nomination.

Both Representative Michael H. Wray (D-27th) and Representative Annie W. Mobley (D-4th) have filed to retain their seats in the North Carolina House of Representatives as of Monday afternoon. While neither faces opposition thus far in their own counties, information was not available as of press time regarding filing in other counties within their district.

Also filing Monday was Judicial District 6B Attorney Valerie Asbell, who is seeking another term in office. No candidates were known to have filed in opposition to Asbell.

Other filings in the region include (I denotes incumbent):

Bertie County

Clerk of Superior Court – John C.P. Tyler (I).

Hertford County

Sheriff – Juan Vaughan (I);

Commissioner District 1 – Johnnie R. Farmer (I); and

Commissioner District 2 – Curtis A. Freeman (I).

Northampton County

Sheriff – Wardie Vincent (I);

Commissioner District 3 – Chester J. Deloatch Sr. (I);

Commissioner District 4 – Robert V. Carter (I);

Clerk of Superior Court – Laquitta Cooper; and

Board of Education – Audrea A. Bennett.