Filing period opens Monday

Published 3:31 pm Saturday, February 6, 2010

Those wishing to seek elected office may begin their campaigns Monday.

Filing for county and state elections will begin at 12 noon on that day and will continue through 12 noon on Friday, February 26.

Statewide, voters in North Carolina will have the opportunity to vote on the U.S. Senate seat held by Richard Burr (R) and a number of judicial vacancies. Those judges whose terms expire include Supreme Court Justice Edward Thomas Brady and Court of Appeals Justices Ann Marie Calabria, Rick Elmore, Sanford L. Steelman Jr. and Martha A. Greer.

In the First Congressional District, the seat of G.K. Butterfield (D) will be open for those who wish to file as well.

Also up for election will be the N.C. Senate District 4 seat held by Ed Jones (D) as well as House District 5 which is represented currently by Annie W. Mobley (D) and the District 27 seat held by Michael H. Wray (D).

Local judicial races include the two District Court judgeships – the ones currently held by Alfred W. Kwasikpui and W. Rob Lewis – as well as the District Attorney, which is currently Valerie Asbell.

Sheriffs Juan Vaughan (Hertford County), Wardie Vincent (Northampton County), Ed Webb (Gates County) and John Holley (Bertie County) will also be up for reelection.

Also on the ballot will be the Clerks of Superior Court in all four counties. Those posts are currently held by John C.P. Tyler (Bertie County), Shirley Johnson (Hertford County), V. Michelle Spruill (Northampton County) and Nell Wiggins (Gates County).

The breakdown by county for those seeking election include (I denotes incumbent):

Bertie County:

Commissioner District II: Rick Harrell (I);

Commissioner District III: J. Wallace Perry (I);

Commissioner District V: Charles L. Smith (I);

Board of Education District II: Rickey Freeman (I); and

Board of Education District IV: Alton H. Parker (I).

Gates County:

Commissioner District 1: Carlton Nickens (I);

Commissioner District 2: Wade Askew (I);

Commissioner District 3: Kenneth Jernigan (I);

Board of Education (three seats): G. Douglas Lilley (I), Leslie S. Byrum (I) and Glendale P. Boone (I).

Hertford County:

Commissioner District 1: Johnnie R. Farmer (I); and

Commissioner District 2: Curtis A. Freeman (I).

Northampton County:

Commissioner District IV: Robert V. Carter (I);

Commissioner District V: Fannie P. Greene (I); and

Board of Education (three seats): Grace Edwards (I), Don Johnson (I) and Charles Tyner (I).

The locals boards of election are open weekdays from 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m.