Commissioners approve re-appointments

Published 10:46 am Tuesday, December 22, 2009

WINTON – Two veteran members of the Hertford County Planning Board will continue their service.

At their recent meeting, the Hertford County Board of Commissioners approved the re-appointment of Larry Pierce of Ahoskie and Ben McLean of Murfreesboro to the Planning Board.

Each was first appointed to a four-year term in December, 2006. That current term was scheduled to expire on Jan. 1, 2010.

Bill Early, Administrator of the Hertford County Planning Board and Zoning Board of Adjustment, recommended the re-appointments of Pierce and McLean, each for a three-year term.

Other members of the Hertford County Planning Board (with terms to expire listed in parenthesis) are Garry Lewter of Ahoskie (2012), Percy Bunch of Murfreesboro (2011), David Shields of Ahoskie (2011), Rev. Dr. Claude Odom of Harrellsville (2012) and Dr. Terry Hall of Winton (2012).

Additionally, Early recommended that Pierce be reappointed to the Zoning Board of Adjustment and that McLean serve as Alternate #1 to that board. The commissioners approved Early’s suggestion.

In another matter, Early informed the commissioners that three members of the Hertford County Economic Development Commission (EDC) have terms expiring on Jan. 1. Based on the EDC bylaws, Tim Newsome of Winton and Bobby Wright of Ahoskie have served two consecutive terms and are not eligible for reappointment. The third EDC Board member with a term about to expire is James Farmer of Murfreesboro, who according to Early is eligible to serve another term.

“The EDC Board recommends that Mr. James Farmer be reappointed to a second term and that Mr. Michael Harrell and Mrs. Kathleen Wright (both of Ahoskie) be appointed to fill the positions held by Mr. Newsome and Mr. Wright,” Early said.

The commissioners approved the EDC Board’s recommendations.

Other members of the Hertford County EDC Board (with terms to expire listed in parenthesis) include Raymond Benthall of Murfreesboro (2012), Howard Hunter III of Ahoskie (2011), John Tayloe of Murfreesboro (2012), Carolyn Bazemore of Winton (2011), Stuart Pierce of Ahoskie (2011) and Marilyn Chavis-Watford of Ahoskie (2012).