Newcomers file in Aulander

Published 5:35 pm Thursday, July 16, 2009

As the filing deadline looms at 12 noon tomorrow (Friday), several newcomers have filed paperwork to seek office in two Bertie County municipalities.

Four newcomers have filed to run for the three open seats on the Aulander Town Council.

Robin M. Bland, Larry Cooke Jr., Henry J. Ingram and Kimsey Myers have each filed to seek office in the northwestern Bertie County town. There are currently three seats open on the board, but none of the incumbents – Henry Spruill, Mary Jane Tayloe and Dennis Wilder – have filed to retain those seats as of 12 noon Wednesday.

Another Bertie County town also has a newcomer seeking election to the town board as Harry Culver has filed for a seat on the Roxobel Town Council. None of the four incumbents – Henry C. Boschen, Carroll Minton, Sammy Pruden and Robert J. McCay – nor Mayor Gary Johnson have filed for office.

The only other new filing in Bertie County was Colerain Commissioner Bill Harrell who has filed to retain his seat on the board.

No newcomers at all have filed in Hertford County as incumbents continue to submit paperwork to seek reelection.

Those who have filed since Monday noon are Ahoskie Town Councilman O.S. “Buck” Suiter Jr. has filed for the Member At-Large seat and Councilman Malcolm Copeland is officially seeking reelection in Ward A.

In Murfreesboro, incumbents Gloria Odum and Bill Theodorakis have filed over the past two days to seek reelection while Winton Town Councilman Charles B. Jones has also filed for reelection.

No candidates have filed for mayor of Winton, Harrellsville or Cofield and no town council candidates have filed in Harrellsville and Cofield.

In Northampton County, the filings have continued slowly with Woodland Town Commissioners Les Clark and David Cooper seeking reelection along with Conway Commissioner Phil A. Matthews.

Severn Mayor George H. McGee has also filed to seek reelection as has Iris F. Williams who is seeking to return to the Garysburg town board.

No candidates have filed for Mayor of Gaston, Mayor of Lasker or Mayor of Rich Square.

In Gates County, Gatesville Mayor Elton Winslow filed for reelection during the past two days.

Those who have filed in Bertie County to date include:

Askewville – Mayor: John W. Pierce (I);

Town of Aulander – Town Council: Robin M. Bland, Larry Cooke Jr., Henry J. Ingram, Kimsey Myers;

Powellsville – Mayor: Thomas Asbell (I); Town Council: James Peele (I), J.T. Watford (I);

Kelford – Town Council: Frank Harris (I), James Bland (I), Wayne Bland (I);

Lewiston Woodville – Mayor: Carl A. Lee (I); Town Council Woodville District: Martha J. Thompson (I); Town Council Lewiston District: Dayle Vaughan (I); Town Council At-Large: Carolyn Jernigan. The At-large seat is vacant and filing is for the unexpired term ending 2011;

Roxobel – Town Council: Harry Culver.

No filings have taken place for offices in Colerain.

Those who have filed in Hertford County to date include:

Ahoskie – Mayor: Linda L. Blackburn (I); Town Council Ward A: Malcolm Copeland (I), Town Council Ward B: Ronald J. Gatling (I); Town Council At-Large: O.S. “Buck” Suiter Jr. (I);

Como – Mayor: Irvin L. Stephens (I); Town Council: Susan White Kennington (I), Kevin Higbee (I), Ann E. Spruill (I) and Stephen Frank Pierce (I);

Murfreesboro – Mayor: Lynn Johnson (I); Town Council: Lloyd Hill (I), Gloria C. Odum (I), Bill Theodorakis (I), Sarah Whitley Wallace (I);

Winton – Town Council: Charles Jones (I), Will Liverman (I), Wesley Liverman (I), William McCoy Pierce (I).

No filings have taken place for offices in Cofield or Harrellsville.

Those who have filed in Northampton County to date include:

Gaston – Commissioner: Louise M. Bailey (I);

Severn – Mayor: George H. McGee (I); Commissioner: Harold L. Garris (I), Royal P. Watson (I), Franklin L. Ferguson (I), Eloise P. Martin (I);

Conway – Mayor: Brian E. Bolton (I); Town Commissioner: Alan C. Harris (I), Phil A. Matthews (I);

Seaboard – Mayor: Bobie N. Moss; Town Commissioner: Edward Henderson (I), William M. Gallimore (I);

Garysburg – Mayor: Roy L. Bell (I); Town Commissioner: Darryl Whittle (I), Jearline V. Brown (I), James M. Mayo (I), Lola Ausby (I), Iris F. Williams (I);

Rich Square – Commissioner: Linwood C. Bryant (I), Charles M. Eason (I), Raymond Joyner (I);

Jackson – Commissioner: James W. “Dock” Boone (I), Karin J. Clements (I), Mary Ann Crawley (I);

Lasker – Commissioner: Robin Gibson (I);

Woodland – Commissioner: Les Clark (I), David Cooper (I)

Gates County filings include:

Gatesville – Mayor: Elton Winslow (I); Town Council: Frederick P. Smith Sr. (I)