Five locals honored by NCC

Published 9:25 am Tuesday, June 9, 2009

ELIZABETH CITY – Five local student-athletes were named to the All-Northeastern Coastal Conference baseball team here recently.

Four players from tri-champion Hertford County High School were selected and one player from Bertie High School.

Selected from HCHS were Player of the Year Brandon Warren, Richard Burns, Travis Ellis and Edward Joyner.

Bertie High School placed Zeek Williams on the All-league team.

Hertford County High School Baseball Coach Chris Towell was named Coach of the Year. Also receiving votes for Coach of the Year was Bruce Phillips of Northeastern High School and Randy Whitaker of Bertie High School.

Also earning All-Northeastern Coastal Conference honors were:

First Flight High School – Georg Mazza, Nick Archibald, Steve Saunders and G.W. Robinson;

Northeastern High School – Tyler Barrington, Adam Meads, Justin Hooker and Christian Horne;

Pasquotank County High School – Andrew Womble and Western Godfrey;

Currituck County High School – Hunter Hughes and Ryan Nicastro.