Amphitheater’s sponsors saluted

Published 11:26 am Friday, February 13, 2009

AHOSKIE – The Mayor and Town Council unveiled the plaque honoring sponsors of the Ahoskie Creak Amphitheater during a noon ceremony Tuesday.

Mayor Linda L. Blackburn welcomed a crown of nearly 100 at the site of the Amphitheater which was officially opened on September 18 of last year.

“Thank you for coming as we dedicate this beautiful amphitheater,” the Mayor said.

After an invocation by the Rev. Dan Smith, the mayor recognized the members of the Ahoskie Town Council. In attendance were Mayor Pro-Tempore Ronald Gatling and council members O.S. “Buck” Suiter Jr., Malcolm Copeland and Elaine Myers.

“When this idea first started, it did not come from the Ahoskie Town Council, but when it was brought before them, they embraced it,” Mayor Blackburn said. “Without their support, encouragement and votes for funding, it wouldn’t have happened.”

Then, turning her attention to the board, she added, “Thank you for being the visionaries we need you to be.”

After her acknowledgement of the town board, Mayor Blackburn recognized the sponsors who made the Ahoskie Creek Amphitheater possible and whose names are on the plaque that was unveiled.

They include:

Platinum Sponsors – Ahoskie Town Council, Ahoskie Tourism Development Authority and Commercial Ready Mix;

Gold Sponsors – Embarq, Perdue Farms Inc., Nucor, Mayor Blackburn, Ahoskie Jaycees, Ahoskie Junior Woman’s Club, Trey, Harriet and Avery Byrum, Snyder Home Service and Rodney White;

Silver Sponsors – Tire Tracs Inc., Woodmen of the World Lodge #328, Central Ford and Dixon Cleaners;

Bronze Sponsors – REB Farms, The Chief Motel, Ahoskie Eye Care, Berry Plastics, Ahoskie Kiwanis Club and E-Z Page; as well as

In-kind contributors – W.H. Basnight Company and Sherwin-Williams Company.

After the recognitions, Ahoskie Town Manager Tony Hammond and Public Works Director Kirk Rogers unveiled the plaque.