Northampton leaders reelected

Published 9:55 pm Wednesday, December 3, 2008

JACKSON—There has been no change at the helm of the Northampton County Board of Commissioners.

On Monday, Commission Chair Robert V. Carter and Vice Chair Fannie Greene were given a vote of confidence from their peers to return to their respective roles for another year.

County Attorney Charles Vaughan opened the floor for nominations for chair.

Commissioner Virginia Spruill nominated Carter for the position, stating she didn’t see a reason to change the seat.

Commissioner James Hester motioned to close the nominations. Commissioner Chester Deloatch gave a second to the motion. The motion was approved.

The commissioners then voted unanimously for Carter as Chair of the Board.

Vaughan then opened up nominations for Vice Chair in which Hester nominated Greene. Deloatch offered a motion to close nominations; it was seconded by Spruill. The motion passed.

Greene was voted collectively into the position of Vice Chair of the Board.

Carter thanked the board for the vote of confidence and assured them he would do his “utmost” to uphold the principles of the board and that the county and board continues to move in the right way.

Greene also thanked her colleagues for their vote and said she would continue to give 110 percent in her role as Vice Chair.

The commissioners also saw two of their own sworn in for another term on the board.

Commissioners Spruill and Hester, who were re-elected in November by their Northampton County constituents, took their oaths of office.

Carter commended both of his fellow commissioners on their re-election.

“I want to congratulate Commissioner Spruill and Commissioner Hester for being re-elected to this board for another four years,” he said. “We wish you Godspeed.”

Vaughan was also reappointed as County Attorney, a position he’s held for 24 years.

Clerk to the Board Kimberly Turner was also reappointed to her role.