Lott bids for school board seat

Published 12:00 am Friday, February 22, 2008

Filing was slow again this week in the Roanoke-Chowan region.

This past week, just one candidate filed for public office at one of the three counties’ (Hertford, Bertie and Northampton) Board of Elections offices.

Lafayette Majette was that one man when he filed for a school board seat in Northampton County on Friday.

After two weeks of filing, only two races have developed locally.

One is for the District Five seat in the North Carolina House of Representatives and the other for Hertford County Commissioner in District Three.

Two candidates will be seeking their first election to the District Five seat held for five terms by Howard J. Hunter Jr. though neither is a newcomer to politics.

Annie W. Mobley, who was appointed to fill Hunter’s unexpired term, filed for election to the post while former Hertford County Commissioner Robert Richardson has also filed. Both are Democrats.

In the Hertford County Commissioner race, incumbent John E. Pierce has filed to seek a second term. He will be opposed by newcomer Bill Mitchell, who has also filed for the seat.

The District Three seat is the elected representative of the Winton area.

Also filing in Hertford County thus far are incumbent Hertford County Commissioner Howard J. Hunter III (District 1) and Commissioner Dupont L. Davis (District 3). To date, they face no opposition.

Hertford County Register of Deeds Kathleen Wright has also filed for reelection.

In Bertie County, four current office holders filed on opening day.

Commissioners Norman Cherry Sr. (District 4) and L.C. Hoggard (District 1) have filed for reelection to their current seats as has Register of Deeds Belinda White.

Commissioner Charles L. Smith has filed to seek election to the District 5 seat he was appointed to following the death of J. Jasper Bazemore. Smith is seeking to fulfill the two years left on that term.

Both incumbent Northampton County Commissioners have also filed for reelection. Commissioner James Hester has filed for his District One seat and Commissioner Virginia Spruill has filed to return to her post in District Two.

Northampton County Register of Deeds Pauline Deloatch has also filed for reelection.

Incumbent Catherine Moody and newcomer Marjorie Lassiter have filed for the Northampton County Board of Education.

Also filing in Northampton County was incumbent North Carolina House of Representatives member Michael H. Wray, who is seeking his third term representing District 27.

North Carolina Senator Ed Jones, who was appointed to the seat of the late Robert L. Holloman, has filed for election to the post. Jones, a Democrat, is from Halifax County.

Thomas R.J. Newbern has filed for the seat he currently holds as a District Court Judge in the 6-B Judicial District.

A Bertie County man has filed for the United States Congress seat held by G.K. Butterfield. Dean Stephens filed for the Republican nomination for District One. Butterfield, a Democrat, has also filed.

Statewide, the following candidates have filed (I denotes incumbent):

Governor (Democrat) – Bev Perdue, Dennis Nielsen;

Governor (Republican) – Fred Smith, Elbie Powers, Pat McCrory, Robert F. Orr;

Lt. Governor (Democrat) – Hampton Dellinger, Walter H. Dalton;

Lt. Governor (Republican) – Robert Pittenger;

Attorney General (Democrat) – Roy Cooper (I);

State Auditor (Democrat) – Beth A. Wood, Frederick Aikens;

State Auditor (Republican) – Leslie Merritt (I);

Commissioner of Agriculture (Democrat) – Ronnie Ansley;

Commissioner of Agriculture (Republican) – Steve Troxler (I);

Commissioner of Labor (Democrat) – Ty Richardson, Robin Anderson;

Commissioner of Labor (Republican) – Cherie Berry (I);

Secretary of State (Democrat) – Elaine Marshall (I);

Superintendent of Public Instruction (Democrat) – June Atkinson (I), Eddie Davis;

Superintendent of Public Instruction (Republican) – Joe Johnson;

Treasurer (Democrat) – David

Young, Janet Cowell;

Treasurer (Republican) – Bill Daughtridge;

United States Senate (Democrat) – Duskin Lassiter, Howard Staley; and

United States Senate (Republican) – Elizabeth Dole (I).

The deadline for filing ends next Friday (Feb. 29) at noon.