Johnson retains M’boro Mayor’s seat

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, November 7, 2007

MURFREESBORO – Five incumbents were returned to office here Tuesday.

Mayor Lynn Johnson won her second term by beating back the challenge of Town Councilman Bill Stephens and political newcomer Libby Whitaker.

“I’m very happy to have won election for mayor because of the projects I have begun and been involved in that I want to see to fruition,” Johnson said. “We have had a lot of things on our plate to accomplish and we have done that, I think, beautifully.”

The mayor also said she believed the town board would work together despite some differences of philosophy.

“We have, for the most part, a good working council,” she said. “We have people with different views coming together to run the town’s business.”

She also stressed the importance of citizen involvement in Murfreesboro’s growth.

“If Murfreesboro loses its charm, it is because the citizens let it be lost,” Johnson said. “We all have to get involved. Involvement is the key to everything.”

Johnson received 307 votes or just fewer than 49.5 percent of the vote, while Stephens was named on 191 ballots (30.76 percent) and Whitaker got 115 votes (18.52 percent). There were also eight write-in votes cast.

In the town council election, one newcomer led the way as retired Town Administrator Molly Eubank received 476 votes to be elected to the board after 20-plus years of service to the town as clerk and administrator.

Following Eubank were four incumbents Lloyd Hill (404 votes), Sarah Whitley Wallace (387), Bill Theodorakis (320) and Gloria Odum (286).

Odum barely defeated Joe Murray, who was on just 18 less ballots with 258 votes. Finishing seventh was Craig Dennis (249), followed by Terry L. Williams (219) and Robert C. Vincent (99).