Incumbents, newcomers file for office

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, July 11, 2007

With the filing period nearly a week old, candidates have been slow to head to the local boards of election.

Bertie has only seen seven candidates file thus far while Hertford County is only slightly higher with nine candidates filing. Northampton County has had 10 file as of 2 p.m. Wednesday.

The most notable name to file in Hertford County thus far is Ahoskie incumbent Mayor Linda Blackburn, who is seeking her third term in office.

Also in Ahoskie, incumbent Town Councilman C.R. Askew has filed to retain the seat he was appointed to after the untimely death of Larry “Cutt” Vann.

In Murfreesboro, incumbent Councilman Lloyd Hill has also filed for his second full term on the board.

Also in Hertford County, Irvin Stephens is seeking his second term as Mayor of Como while Ann Spruill joined Kevin Higbee in filing to return to the Como Town Council.

Incumbent Harrellsville Commissioner Jo M. Liles is the only person to file from that town.

Northampton County has seen 10 candidates file thus far with eight of them being incumbents in their post.

The only political newcomer to file thus far is Gail Wade, who is seeking a spot on the Conway Town Council. Alan Harris, an incumbent, has also filed to retain his seat on that board.

In Jackson, current Town Councilman Bill Futrell has filed to keep his seat.

Other incumbents to file include Rich Square Commissioners Charles Eason, Raymond Joyner and William Smallwood Jr., Severn Commissioners Harold L. Garris and Eloise P. Martin and Gaston Commissioner Wade L. Moseley and Garysburg Commissioner Iris F. Williams.

Powellsville continues to be the place where the highest number of candidates have filed in Bertie County. Incumbent Mayor Thomas Asbell and Commissioner J.T. Watford have filed to seek reelection. Also on the ballot will be James Peele, who is seeking election to the town council.

In Kelford, incumbent James Bland Jr. has filed for the town council and Wayne Bland has also filed as a challenger for the town board.

Aulander Commissioner Bobbie Parker has filed for reelection this week as well.

Filing will continue until 12 noon Friday, July 20. All boards of election are open from 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m.

A total list of those who have filed is below with incumbents noted in parenthesis:

Northampton County

Conway n Mayor: No filings; Commissioner: Alan Harris (I), Gail Wade;

Garysburg n Mayor: No filings; Commissioner: Iris F. Williams;

Gaston n Mayor: No filings; Commissioner: Wade L. Moseley (I);

Jackson n Mayor: No filings; Commissioner: Bill Futrell Jr. (I);

Rich Square n Mayor: No filings; Commissioner: Charles M. Eason (I), Raymond Joyner (I), William Smallwood Jr. (I);

Lasker: Mayor: No filings; Commissioner: No filings;

Seaboard: Commissioner: No filings;

Severn: Mayor: No filings; Commissioner: Harold L. Garris (I), Eloise P. Martin (I);

Woodland: Mayor: No filings; Commissioner: No filings;

Hertford County

Ahoskie: Mayor: Linda Blackburn (I); Commissioner: C.R. Askew (I);

Cofield: Mayor: No filings; Commissioner: No filings;

Como: Mayor: Irvin Stephens (I); Commissioner: Kevin Higbee (I), Ann Spruill (I);

Harrellsville: Mayor: No filings; Commissioner: Jo M. Liles (I);

Murfreesboro: Mayor: Lynn Johnson (I); Commissioner: Lloyd Hill (I);

Winton: Mayor: No filings; Commissioner: Wesley Liverman;

Bertie County

Askewville: Mayor: No filings; Commissioner: No filings;

Aulander: Mayor: No filings; Commissioner: Bobbie Parker (I);

Colerain: Mayor: No filings; Commissioner: No filings;

Kelford: Mayor n No filings; Commissioner: James Bland Jr. (I), Wayne Bland;

Lewiston-Woodville: Commissioner: Eddie Graham Jr. (I);

Powellsville: Mayor: Thomas Asbell (I); Commissioner: James Peele, J.T. Watford (I);

Roxobel: Mayor: No filings; Commissioner: No filings;

Windsor: Commissioner: No filings.