Windsor identifies violent dogs

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, March 14, 2007

WINDSOR – The town of Windsor now has a direction in their quest to control violent dogs.

A committee appointed to study the problem made a recommendation at last week’s meeting of the Windsor Board of Commissioners.

The recommendations made by the committee were received by the board, but not officially adopted.

The committee recommended the town utilize the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s list of most dangerous dogs.

The town already has an ordinance in place that would require dangerous dogs to be walked with a muzzle. It also prohibits those animals from being kept on a chain.

What the town did not have in its current ordinance is a definition of which dogs would be considered dangerous. That was left to the discretion of Windsor Police Chief Rodney Hoggard.

After discussion at a recent board meeting, the town board felt Hoggard would be helped by a most concrete definition of which dogs would be considered dangerous.

According to the list presented to the board, the breeds that would be considered dangerous would include:

* Pit Bull-type, including Bull Terrier, Staffordshire Bull Terrier, American Pit Bull and American Staffordshire Terrier;

* Rottweiler;

* German Shepherd;

* Husky-type;

* Malamute;

* Wolf-dog hybrid;

* Chow Chow;

* Doberman;

* Dogs of mixed breed of any part of the aforementioned animals;

* Any dog with a known propensity, tendency or disposition to attack unprovoked, to cause injury to, or to otherwise endanger the safety of humans or other domestic animals; and

* Any dog which attacks a human being or other domestic animal without provocation.

The committee also recommended the dogs be walked under the control of a competent and capable person at least 18 years of age.

The dogs should also be confined indoors or in a securely enclosed and locked pen or kennel, except when leashed and muzzled.

The board agreed to forward the resolution to Town Attorney Braxton Gillam to have him draft a resolution for their consideration.

The committee consisted of Commissioner Charles W.D. Fulk, Cliff Street, James Mountain, Alton Spraggins and Carroll Williams. Town Administration Alan Castelloe and Chief Hoggard also participated on the committee.