All-Roanoke-Chowan Football Team

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, February 28, 2007

AHOSKIE – One voter called the selection of the 2006-2007 All-Roanoke-Chowan Football Team the toughest he had ever participated in.

That was the general consensus of those who gathered to select the five special awards and the balance of the All-Roanoke-Chowan Football Team which is jointly sponsored by the Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald and WDLZ-FM 98.3 in Murfreesboro.

The top selection was not so difficult, however, as Hertford County Defensive Lineman Tydreke Powell received five of seven first place votes to be named Player of the Year.

Powell, who was the mostly highly recruited player in the region, was a standout on offense and defense for the Bears.

“It’s rare that a defensive lineman win Player of the Year, but goes to show his impact on the game,” HCHS Head Football Coach Greg Watford said. “Tydreke made people change the way they ran their offenses.

“He used not only the athletic ability he was born with, but his work ethic to inspire the team,” Watford added.

The other two players who received votes were fellow Bear Danny Dembry and Bertie High School quarterback Desmond Williams.

When it came to Best Offensive Player, Dembry again gave the Bears an edge.

The senior quarterback has been at the helm of two Northeastern Coastal Conference championship teams, including this year’s squad who went 9-2 in the regular season.

“Danny will leave Hertford County as the all-time leader in all-purpose yardage and may have put it out of reach for everyone else,” Watford said. “He is a tremendous leader and is intelligent player on field.

“To watch him grow and mature has been amazing,” the coach added. “He has set the bar high for the guy who is going to follow him. He is one of most exciting offensive players I have had a chance to coach.”

Also receiving votes for the award were Williams and Hertford County running back Rayshawn Mercer.

Defensively, there is a repeat winner. Kendall Bridgett of Bertie High School earned the honor of Best Defensive Player for the second consecutive season.

Bridgett, a senior linebacker for the Falcons, led the team in tackles and big hits for the second straight year.

“I think Kendall is well-deserving,” Bertie Head Football Coach Tony Hoggard said. “He has put in time and work and has always been team leader.

“He has been dedicated to our defense and team as well,” Hoggard added. “He is going to be productive young man and it’s a tremendous honor for him.”

Also receiving votes for the award were Vontray Hughes of Northampton-West, Powell of HCHS and Darren Everett of Hertford County.

The final special award given out this season is the Comeback Player of the Year Award. In its inaugural year on the Roanoke-Chowan Football Team, the award goes to Lawrence Academy’s Jay Spencer by a unanimous vote.

The senior running back was doubtful to ever walk again after a hunting accident in November of 2005, but came back to lead his team on both sides of the football.

“Watching him play and seeing the plays he makes just makes you respect him more as a person, even though I am his dad,” said Jay’s coach and father, Alan Spencer.

Mike Williams, the co-editor of, called Jay Spencer an inspiration early last year.

“He is an inspiration to a lot of us, including me personally,” Williams said. “For him to come back and accomplish what he has, he’s an inspiration to the entire NCISAA as well.”

When it came to the 2006-2007 Coach of the Year Award, the voting was nearly unanimous with Northeast Academy Coach Collin Sneed getting six of the seven votes for the award.

Sneed took over a football team that hadn’t been in the playoffs for 20-plus years and guided them to a berth in the postseason, thanks in part to a three-game regular season winning streak.

Sneed then led his team to a first round upset of Halifax Academy, giving them a trip to the second round of the playoffs.

The other coach to receive a vote was Bertie’s Hoggard.

The First Team selections went as follows:


Danny Dembry, Hertford County

Drew Pinnix, Northeast Academy

Offensive Backs

Travis Greene, Hertford County

Rayshawn Mercer, Hertford County

Dasmine Moody, Northampton-West

Kevin Swain, Bertie

Tight End

LaMarcus Jenkins, Hertford County

Offensive Linemen

Travis Bond, Bertie

Marshall Ellis, Lawrence

Desmond Roberts, Northampton-West

Will Simmons, Hertford County

Alton Walston, Hertford County

Wide Receiver

Darius Wesson, Bertie


Michael Burton, Hertford County

All-Purpose Offense

Desmond Williams, Bertie

Defensive Linemen

Ben Blowe, Lawrence Academy

Darren Everett, Hertford County

Tydreke Powell, Hertford County

Dennis Saunders, Bertie

Quentin Turner, Northampton-West


Kendall Bridgett, Bertie

Marcel Henneghan, Hertford County

Vontray Hughes, Northampton-West

Defensive Backs

Brandon Brown, Bertie

Andre Lyles, Hertford County

Lamar Monger, Hertford County

Randy Turner, Northampton-West

Cole Vinson, Northeast Academy

Return Specialist

Chris Smith, Northampton-West

All-Purpose Defense

Jay Spencer, Lawrence Academy

Second Team Selections included:

Jay Baker, Northeast Academy

Tavoris Banks, Northampton-West

David Brackett, Hertford County

Wesley Bryant, Northeast Academy

Jairekus Creecy, Bertie

Brandon Futrell, Northeast Academy

Chris Futrell, Northeast Academy

Arch Harrell, Northeast Academy

Will Hoggard, Lawrence Academy

Cephus Ingram, Northampton-West

D.J. Jenkins, Hertford County

Jamal Jones, Hertford County

Yusuf McCoy, Hertford County

Zack Mize, Northeast Academy

Michael Peoples, Northampton-West

Josh Reddish, Northampton-East

Jacob Rhodes, Lawrence Academy

Todd Squire, Northampton-West