Incumbent, newcomer win in Northampton

Published 12:00 am Thursday, November 9, 2006

JACKSON – Incumbent Northampton County Commissioner Fannie P. Greene will remain in office another four years.

The Democrat beat back the challenge of Unaffiliated candidate Charles “Chuck” Youse to earn her second term on the board representing District Five, according to unofficial returns released by the Northampton County Board of Elections.

“Once again the citizens of Northampton County have spoken,” Greene said. “I’m so appreciative of all the confidence they have place in me.

“I have worked hard the last four years to ensure everyone has a good quality of life in Northampton County,” she added. “I will work just as hard the next four years to improve things for all the citizens.”

Joining her will be current Vice Chairman Robert V. Carter (D-2nd), who was reelected without opposition and Democratic newcomer Chester Deloatch Sr.

Deloatch rallied from an early return deficit to win by just over 300 votes, despite winning only six of the county’s 18 precincts.

Deloatch defeated Republican Rose Sumner 2,858 votes to 2,494 in the bid to replace retiring Democrat James C. Boone in representing the Third District.

“I thank all the citizens of the county,” Deloatch said after his election.

Greene won seven of the county’s 18 precincts, but took four of the five largest voting precincts in the county in her 2,915 to 2,332 win over Youse.

Greene defeated her challenger handily in her home of Garysburg, winning 423-48, and also took a lopsided margin in Gaston where the vote was 487 to 133. Greene took Rich Square 366 to 139 and Seaboard 253 to 129.

Youse’s main support came in Lake Gaston where he secured 358 votes to Green’e 202. The challenger also had a decided advantage in absentee balloting where he won 260 to 142.

In all, Greene won precincts in Gaston, Garysburg, Newtown, Pleasant Hill, Potecasi, Rich Square and Seaboard.

Youse took Conway, Creeksville, Galatia, Jackson, Lake Gaston, Milwaukee, Lasker, Pendleton, Rehoboth, Severn and Woodland.

The support for Deloatch came from many of the same precincts.

Deloatch won the Garysburg precinct 430 to 46 and secured 456 votes in Gaston to Sumner’s 171. He also took a handy victory in Rich Square, where he won 344 to 176 and Seaboard, where he led Sumner 257 to 135.

Sumner’s support came in Conway, where she secured a 198 to 97 victory and Lake Gaston, where she received 328 votes to Deloatch’s 233. Sumner also had the highest number of absentee ballots where she received 262 votes compared to Deloatch’s 141.

In all, Deloatch won precincts in Garysbug, Gaston, Pleasant Hill, Potecasi, Rich Square and Seaboard.

Sumner won precincts in Conway, Creeksville, Galatia, Newtown, Jackson, Lake Gaston, Milwaukee, Lasker, Pendleton, Rehoboth, Severn and Woodland.

In his bid to remain on the Northampton County Commission for a third term, Carter received 3,810 votes throughout the county.

Also winning in uncontested races were State House Representative Michael H. Wray (D-27th), Sheriff Wardie Vincent, who will serve a third term, Clerk of Superior Court V. Michelle Spruill, District Court Judge Alfred W. Kwasikpui, District Court Judge W. Rob Lewis and Soil and Water Conservation Supervisors David F. Odom and Michael S. Taylor.