Countdown is on for election

Published 12:00 am Saturday, November 4, 2006

Election Day is drawing near.

On Tuesday, November 7, the nation will go to the polls to fill 435 House of Representative seats, 33 United States senate seats and multiple state house and county government positions.

Locally, voters have been able to go to polls for one-stop voting for the past several weeks. In Northampton County, that has meant almost 400 voters thus far have cast ballots.

Elections Director Tonya B. Pitts was pleased with the turnout thus far for one-stop and absentee balloting.

According to her records, 130 civilians had voted by mail and 14 military. In addition, 257 had cast ballots by way of one-stop voting.

Leading the way in Northampton County is a pair of tightly contested races for county commissioner.

In District Five, former Veteran’s Service Officer Charles “Chuck” Youse, who is running as an unaffiliated candidate, is vying to unseat one-term Democratic incumbent Fannie P. Greene.

In District Three, the retirement of four-term incumbent James C. Boone has left two political novices vying for the seat.

Chester J. Deloatch Sr. is the Democratic nominee for the seat while Rose Sumner is the Republican nominee for the second time in as many campaigns for the seat.

Running unopposed in Northampton County are incumbent State House Representative Michael H. Wray (D-27th), Sheriff Wardie Vincent, District Two Commissioner Robert Carter and Clerk of Superior Court Michele Spruill.

David F. Odom and Michael S. Taylor are running unopposed for two seats as Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisors.

In Bertie County, a pair of late write-in candidates has put two Democratic county commissioners as having technical challenges.

In District Two, incumbent Commission Chairman Rick Harrell is running unopposed for reelection. Harrell is the only of three candidates not having opposition.

In District Three, one-term Democratic incumbent and retired sheriff J. Wallace Perry is the only name on the ballot. He is being challenged, however, by the write-in campaign of Jean Canada.

In District Five, three-term incumbent Democrat J. Jasper Bazemore is running for reelection. Like Perry, Bazemore’s name is the only one who will appear on the ballot as John Richardson is seeking the seat as a write-in candidate.

Others who are seeking reelection in Bertie County are incumbent Sheriff Greg Atkins and Clerk of Superior Court John C.P. Tyler. Neither face opposition.

Also unopposed on the ballot are Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisors Vernon Cobb and John W. Stallings.

In Hertford County, all of the local races are unopposed except for the ballot for board of education.

On the ballot for the three spots will be incumbents Ron Baker, John D. Horton and Patrick Young. Also seeking those seats will be newcomers Dennis M. Deloatch, Carolyn Mitchell Vaughan, Marcus L. Williams Sr. and Susan Barnes Williams.

Those on the local ballot who are running unopposed include District One Commissioner Johnnie Ray Farmer, District Two incumbent Curtis Freeman, Sheriff Juan Vaughan and Clerk of Superior Court Shirley Johnson. Also on the ballot are two Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisors, Jimmy Mason and David Simons.

Those who will be on the ballot for multiple counties in the region include a battle for North Carolina State Senate in District Four.

Two-term incumbent Democrat Robert L. Holloman is seeking reelection in that race against Republican challenger Kenneth R. “Ken” Chandler.

Also seeking reelection will be State House Representative Howard Hunter Jr. The Democratic incumbent is being challenged by Kyle Jones, a Republican.

Those who are running unopposed in the region include Judicial District 6B Attorney Valerie Mitchell Asbell, District Court Judge Alfred W. Kwasikpui and District Court Judge W. Rob Lewis.