School Board presents awards

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, May 30, 2006

WINTON – At the Hertford County Board of Education meeting this past Monday some distinguished individuals were presented awards and several major personnel changes were made. The highlights are as follows:

Board Chairman David Shields presented certificates to students from Bearfield Primary School. The students had completed the Reading Recovery Program, and all are now reading at or above grade level for the end of the first grade. The students receiving the awards were; Ezekeil Brooks, Aquan Vann, Khieacia Holley, Tristian Harrell, Antre Jones, Connie Streling, Nyasia Askew, Brandon Monger, Kyasia Horton, and Ke’montray Whitaker.

Vice Chairman Rev. Patrick Young presented a certificate to Frances Evans, Literacy Coordinator at Bearfield Primary School. Evans received the International Paper and the Team for Educational Excellence grant for the BEARS Reading Program. The grant is for $2,300.

Board member Ronald Baker presented certificates to Chauntina Jenkins, Heather Boone, and Joseph Gatling for demonstrating leadership ability as members of the Hertford County High School’s JROTC.

Board member J. Wendell Hall presented a certificate to Sarah Davis a math teacher at Hertford County High School. Davis has been named to the National Honor Roll’s Outstanding American Teacher for 2005-2006. One of Davis’ students, Maurice Nichols nominated her for the award. Nichols was named to Who’s Who Among American High School Students.

Board member John Horton presented a certificate to James Towell, a Phys. Ed teacher at Hertford County Middle School. Towell has been selected to appear in the 2005-2006 edition of Who’s Who Among America’s High School Teachers.

Hertford County Middle School won the School House Award for the month of April. The award is presented to the school having the best staff attendance for the month.