Local teams prepare for Quiz Bowl

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, March 21, 2006

MURFREESBORO – The Albemarle Regional Library will host the District Quiz Bowl in Turner Auditorium, Chowan College at 2 p.m. on Saturday, March 25.

County winners in high schools served by Albemarle Regional Library, East Albemarle Regional Library and Halifax County Library systems will compete for the opportunity to advance to the State Quiz Bowl Competition.

The public is invited to attend the competition.

High schools competing will be Albemarle School (Pasquotank County), Bertie County High School, Camden High School, Currituck High School, Gates County High School, Hertford County High School, Hobgood Academy (Halifax County), Manteo High School (Dare County) and Northampton County High School-East.

Moderator for District Quiz Bowl 2006 is Dr. B. Franklin Lowe, Jr., Academic Dean Emeritus of Chowan College.

Judges are the Rev. Dr. C. Lee Canipe, pastor of Murfreesboro Baptist Church; Dr. Colin Jones, physician with Ahoskie Family Physicians; and Dr. Betty Moore, English Professor Emeritus, North Carolina State University.

Assisting will be members of the Boards of Trustees and staff members of the seven branches that comprise the Albemarle Regional Library:

Jane Barmer, Nancy Flythe, Carolyn Liverman, Elaine Coburn, Sarah Davis, Pat Familiar, Larry Joyner, Hal Scott, Wanda Taylor and Irene Walker.

To advance to this level of competition, each team participated in a local quiz bowl. Albemarle Regional Quiz Bowl and East Albemarle Regional Quiz Bowl were held on Feburary 4; Halifax County Quiz Bowl was held on February 8.

Teams and coaches are as follows:

Albemarle School—Coach Tom Williams; Team members Alex Cohoon-Kight, Allison Danchise, Perry Dawson, Chris Hollowell, Courtney Jones, Bryan Nixon, Steven Norton and Matthew Stevenson.

Bertie County High School—Coach Rebecca Reynolds; Team members William Credle, Khalim Futrell, Shwanda Jones, Lemontrel Leary, Nick Klingler, Preston Mizelle, Dexter Peele and Allisyn Williams.

Camden High School—Coaches Maggie Altman and Suzanne Ott; Team members Jarrod Borders, Cody Carver, Colby Deckman, Jordan Dixon, Zach Kermitz, Ben Kornegay, Chris Lawson and Anthony Sawyer.

Currituck High School—Coaches Sylvia Kirk and Mary Simmons; Team members Kelli Daffron, Sonny Edney, Piper Ferguson, Justin Midgette, Adam Nyborg, Kara Pearce, Ben Rinelli and Melissa Simmons.

Gates County High School—Coach Susan McLawhorn; Team members

Chris Clark, Westley Clifton,

Andrew Hobbs, Frank Holton, Maurice Johnson, Elbert Parks, Justin Plyler and Adam Williams.

Hertford County High School—Coach John Johnson; Team members Becca Barket, Kaylee Barket, Thomas Grimes, Jordan Harrell, Courtney Price, Neill Proctor and Corey Saunders.

Hobgood Academy—Coach Tracy Moore; Team members Michael House, Brittany James, Tracy Kirkland, Jordan Pendleton, Elizabeth Uzzell, Bobbi Jo Walston, Ginny Whitehead and Kevin Winfree.

Manteo High School—Coaches Barbara Vogt and Karen Winston; Team members Randy Allen, Curtis Duncan, Allison Flynn, Taylor Gullett, Megan Hoffner, Grace Jolly, Sam Lamper and Nick Yelle.

Northampton County High School East—Coach Ames Anderson; Team members Alex Britton, Michael Davis, Timothy Gubitz and R.J. White.

Following the quarter-final matches, refreshments will be served by the Melrose Club of Murfreesboro.

The Murfreesboro Rotary Club has furnished the winner’s plaque to be presented at the conclusion of the competitions by Elaine Coburn, Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Albemarle Regional Library.

Flower arrangements have been provided by Craig Dennis, Master Gardner of Murfreesboro and art teacher at Riverview Elementary School.

Other sponsors of District PLQB are A.W. Brinkley Hardware, Aulander Florist, Aulander Furniture, Jane Barmer, Bertie County Peanuts,

Joyce Elliott Brown, Jean Canada, Charlie West’s Grill and Ice Cream, Commercial Ready Mix, Gates County Historical Association, William Hall, Mr. and Mrs. Charles W. Hughes, Jenkins-Brown Insurance, Inc., Lane Farm Supply, Peggy Lefler, Renee H. McGinnis, Metal Tech of Murfreesboro, NUCOR Plate Mill, Pritchett & Bunch Attorneys, Southern Bank of Ahoskie, Aulander, Murfreesboro, and Winton, Carole Smith, Terry’s Hardware and United Steel Workers.

The winner of this competition will advance to the State Quiz Bowl to be broadcast over UNC-TV on April 22.