Seven seek three seats on N’hampton School Board

Published 12:00 am Thursday, March 2, 2006

JACKSON – What had been a lackluster filing period took a turn toward the wild here Tuesday.

With filing ending at 12 noon, Northampton County Election Director Tonya B. Pitts saw six candidates file and one withdraw during the final day to enter the May primary.

With three seats up on the Northampton County Board of Education, only two people had filed for the post prior to Tuesday.

Incumbents Grace Edwards and Lafayette &uot;Lott&uot; Majette had already filed to retain their seats heading into the final day.

The other incumbent, Charles Tyner Sr., filed Tuesday along with two former members of the board.

Those two former members are Don Johnson and Clinton Williams.

In addition, two newcomers – Erica Smith-Hicks and Julius O. Webb – also filed for the seats on the Board.

After filing was completed, seven names will be on the ballot seeking the three seats.

Also seeing a contest will be two-term incumbent Sheriff Wardie Vincent. Former Chief Deputy Sheldon Skinner will seek the office after filing on the opening day.

Thus far only one commissioner seat will see a challenge as District Three incumbent James C. Boone withdrew his initial filing to seek a fourth term.

Instead newcomer Chester Deloatch Sr. will be the Democratic nominee in District 3 while Rose Sumner will carry the banner of the Republican Party.

The two incumbents were the only two to file for the other pair of commission seats. Robert V. Carter (D-4th) is seeking his third term while Fannie P. Greene (D-5th) is seeking her second.

Also uncontested will be Clerk of Superior Court V. Michelle Spruill (D).