Ahoskie II voters will use Town Hall

Published 12:00 am Thursday, November 3, 2005

AHOSKIE – It appears that the Ahoskie II voting precinct has found a new home.

After decades of casting their ballots at the Ahoskie Armory, registered voters whose names are recorded on the Ahoskie II precinct books will, for the second consecutive election, make their choices at the Ahoskie Town Hall.

Those choices will come Nov. 8 where Ahoskie voters will select their town’s leaders during a municipal election. The Town Hall polling place (held in the Town Council chambers) will open at 6:30 a.m. Voting ends at 7:30 p.m.

The town’s other two polling places, the Ahoskie Rescue Squad building (Ahoskie I) and R.L. Vann School (Ahoskie III), remain unchanged. Their hours of operation on Nov. 8 are the same as shown above.

There two races and two uncontested seats on the Ahoskie ballot. Incumbent councilmen O.S. “Buck” Suiter Jr. and Malcolm Copeland face respective challenges from Carl “CR” Askew and Tommy Hurdle. Currently, Suiter holds the At-Large seat on the Ahoskie Town Council while Copeland is the Ward A representative.

Also on the Nov. 8 ballot are Ward B Councilman Ronald Gatling and Mayor Linda Blackburn. Both are unopposed.

Due to the election, the regularly scheduled Ahoskie Town Council meeting on Nov. 8 has been postponed until Nov. 15.