Cofield will see write-in campaign

Published 12:00 am Thursday, August 11, 2005

COFIELD – Let the write-in campaign begin.

Only four candidates filed for the five spots on the Cofield town board as incumbent Ronald Sutton chose not to seek another term.

&uot;The Board of Elections has decided not to extend the filing period,&uot; Hertford County Elections Director Sheila Privott said. &uot;The final seat on the town council will be determined by write-in votes.&uot;

Those who did file for reelection included Nettie Brickers, Melvin Wynn, Anthony Archer and Lee Watford Jr.

Just down the road in Harrellsville, a change will also take place on the town board as Jo M. Liles will likely replace Shadrick Gathers. Gathers did not file for reelection.

Four incumbents, Deborah Baker, Mary Thompson, Coleman Taylor

and Roy Worrells did file to return to the five-person board.

Also seeing change will be the Bertie County town of Roxobel where two of the four incumbents did not file.

David Bracy and Sammy Prudent will be on the ballot along with current councilmen H.C. Boschen and Carroll Minton. Town board members Alton Parker and Manuel Joyner did not seek reelection.

One change is also in order in Lewiston Woodville where Larry Mizell filed for the seat currently held by Dana Wiggins. Wiggins did not file. Also running for the five-seat board are incumbents Dayle Vaughan, Eddie Graham, Martha Thompson and Chris Cordon.

Gloria Bryant will join incumbents Robert Harmon and Mary Lou Jernigan on the town board in Askewville. She is the only newcomer to file while current council member Roy Johnson did not file.

Towns who had no challengers file for commissioner seats included Garysburg, Severn, Lasker, Powellsville, Windsor, Colerain and Winton.