R-C municipal races heating up

Published 12:00 am Saturday, July 30, 2005

Municipal races continue to heat up as the deadline for filing looms.

Como, Seaboard and Murfreesboro are guaranteed races in the November elections while Ahoskie, Aulander and Gaston seem bound for contests.

In Seaboard, five people have filed for the three open positions on the town board. Challengers Michael Procino and Ann Marie Procino will run against incumbents William Gallimore, Edward Henderson and Bobbie Moss in that town.

Incumbent Como Mayor Danny Edwards has yet to file, though Town Commissioner Irvin Stephens has filed for the post.

On the ballot for Como Town Council will be at least three challengers for the four seats. Incumbents Stephen Pearce and Susan Kennington have filed to remain on the board. Three challengers – Kevin Higbee, Hurley Hedgepth and Susan Hedgepeth – have also filed. Incumbent council member Helen Curle has not filed.

In Murfreesboro, Mayor Ben S. McLean will be challenged by Lynn Johnson while thus far eight people will vie for five town council seats. All five incumbents – Lloyd Hill, Bill Parker, Bill Stephens, Wayne Brown and Bill Theodorakis – have filed along with challengers Jennifer Hodge, Sarah Wallace and Gloria Odum.

Thus far there are no contests in Ahoskie, but a challenger has filed for the At-Large seat on the town board. Carl &uot;C.R.&uot; Askew will seek the seat currently held by O.S. &uot;Buck&uot; Suiter who has yet to file.

No candidates have filed for the Ward A seat currently held by Malcolm Copeland. Ronald Gatling, the incumbent Councilman in Ward B has filed, as has Mayor Linda Blackburn.

Also likely to seek a race will be the people of Gaston. Already two people have filed for vacancies on the board. The challengers are Deborah L. James and Becky Sykes. Only one incumbent, Danny Tolbert, has filed thus far. Other incumbents – Lousie Bailey, Donald Conner, Billy Martin and Mike Phelps – have not filed.

Aulander has four incumbents who have filed for the town board. Those four are Bobbie Parker, Jeanette Tinkham, Dennis Wilder and Henry Spruill. A challenger, Robin Maxham Bland, has also filed. Incumbent Mary Jane Taylor has not filed.

Several towns are still well away from having the required number file. Those who are still seeking a full slate include Cofield, Harrellsville, Conway, Garysburg, Gaston, Rich Square, Woodland, Askewville, Roxobel and Kelford.

Those who had filed as of 12 noon Friday, include:

Northampton County

Conway – Mayor – Brian E. Bolton (I); Commissioner – Peggy L. Davis (I), Alan C. Harris (I);

Garysburg – Roy L. Bell (I), Commissioner – Iris Williams (I);

Gaston – Mayor – No filings; Commissioner – Deborah Lee James (C), Becky Sykes (C), Danny Tolbert (I);

Jackson – Commissioner – Mary Ann Crawley (I), Jim Gossip (I), Fred W. Harper (C);

Lasker – Mayor – No filings; Commissioner – Charles M. Daughtry Jr. (I), Robin Gibson (I), Brenda Whitley (I);

Rich Square – Mayor – No filing; Commissioner – Charles Eason (I), Rodney P. Tann (C);

Seaboard – Mayor – Melvin F. Broadnax (I); Commissioner – William Gallimore (I), Edward Henderson (I), Bobbie Moss (I), Ann Marie Procino (C), Michael Procino (C);

Severn – Mayor – George McGee (I); Commissioner – Frank Ferguson (I), George Francis (I), Harold L. Garris (I), Eloise P. Martin (I), Parker Watson Jr. (I);

Woodland – Mayor – No filing; Commissioner – Joseph Blythe (C), Les Clark (I).

Bertie County

Askewville – Mayor – Meredith White (I); Commissioner – Robert Harmon (I);

Aulander – Mayor – Joe R. Jernigan Sr. (I); Commissioner – Robin Maxham Bland (C), Bobbie Parker (I), Henry G. Spruill (I), Jeanette Ayscue Tinkham (I), Dennis B. Wilder Sr. (I);

Colerain – Mayor – No Filings; Commissioner – Robert C. Fringer (I), Bill Harrell (I), Duncan Hughes (I);

Kelford – Mayor – No Filings; James Bland (I), Wayne Bland (C), Frank Harris (I);

Lewiston-Woodville – Mayor – Carl A. Lee (I); Commissioner – Eddie Graham (I), Martha Thompson (I), Dayle J. Vaughan (I);

Powellsville – Mayor – Thomas Asbell (I); Commissioner – C.D. Hoggard (I), J.T. Watford (I);

Roxobel – Mayor – No Filings; Commissioner – H.C. Boschen (I), Sammy Ray Pruden (C);

Windsor – Mayor – Robert &uot;Bob&uot; Spivey (I); Commissioner – Jimmy Hoggard (I) and O. Wint Hale (I).

Hertford County

Ahoskie – Mayor – Linda L. Blackburn (I); Commissioner – Ronald Gatling (I – Ward B), Carl &uot;C.R.&uot; Askew (C – At-Large);

Cofield – Mayor – Hermea Pugh (I); Commissioner – Nettie Brickers (I);

Como – Mayor – Irvin Stephens (C); Commissioner – Hurley Hedgepeth (C), Susan Hedgepeth (C), Kevin Higbee (C) Susan Kennington (I), Stephen Pearce (I);

Harrellsville – Mayor – Robert D. Dantz; Commissioner – Deborah Baker (I), Mary Thompson (I);

Murfreesboro – Mayor – Lynn Johnson (C), Ben S. McLean (I); Commissioner – Wayne R. Brown (I), Lloyd Hill (I), Jennifer M. Hodge (C), Gloria Odum (C), William &uot;Bill&uot; Parker Jr. (I), William &uot;Bill&uot; Stephens (I), Sarah Whitley Wallace (C), Bill Theodorakis (I);

Winton – Mayor – Calvin S. Hall (I); Commissioner – Ernest Green (I), Charles Jones (I), Wesley Liverman (I), William McCoy Pierce (I).