Races taking shape in municipal filing

Published 12:00 am Monday, July 25, 2005

Races are beginning to take shape in the Roanoke-Chowan area.

As municipal filings near their close on August 5, one town is already assured of having competition in their elections.

In Murfreesboro, the race is on for mayor as incumbent Ben S. McLean will be challenged by newcomer Lynn Johnson.

The town's council will also see competition as thus far four incumbents and three challengers have filed for the five open seats. Filing so far has been Wayne R. Brown (I), Lloyd Hill (I), Jennifer M. Hodge (C), Gloria Odum (C), William "Bill" Parker Jr. (I), William "Bill" Stephens (I) and Sarah Whitley Wallace (C).

Thus far, the following candidates have filed in their respective counties as of 12 noon on Monday:

Hertford County

Ahoskie – Mayor – Linda L. Blackburn (I); Commissioner – Ronald Gatling (I – Ward B);

Cofield – Mayor – No filings; Commissioner – Nettie Brickers (I);

Como – Mayor – Irvin Stephens (C); Commissioner – Hurley Hedgepeth (C), Susan Hedgepeth (C), Kevin Higbee (I);

Harrellsville – Mayor – Robert D. Dantz; Commissioner – Deborah Baker (I);

Murfreesboro – Mayor – Lynn Johnson (C), Ben S. McLean (I); Commissioner – Wayne R. Brown (I), Lloyd Hill (I), Jennifer M. Hodge (C), Gloria Odum (C), William "Bill" Parker Jr. (I), William "Bill" Stephens (I), Sarah Whitley Wallace (C).

Winton – Mayor – Calvin S. Hall (I); Commissioner – Ernest Green (I), Wesley Liverman (I), William McCoy Pierce (I).

Northampton County

Conway – Mayor – No filings; Commissioner – Alan C. Harris (I);

Garysburg – Roy L. Bell (I), Commissioner – No filings;

Gaston – Mayor – No filings; Commissioner – Deborah Lee James (C), Danny Tolbert (I);

Jackson – Commissioner – Jim Gossip (I), Fred W. Harper (C);

Lasker – Mayor – No filings; Commissioner – Charles M. Daughtry Jr. (I), Brenda Whitley (I);

Rich Square – Mayor – No filing; Commissioner – Charles Eason (I), Rodney P. Tann (C);

Seaboard – Mayor – Melvin F. Broadnax (I); Commissioner – Edward Henderson (I), Ann Marie Procino (C), Michael Procino (C);

Severn – Mayor – George McGee (I); Commissioner – Frank Ferguson (I), Harold L. Garris (I), Eloise P. Martin (I), Parker Watson Jr. (I);

Woodland – Mayor – No filing; Commissioner – Joseph Blythe (C), Les Clark (I).

Bertie County

Askewville – No Filings;

Aulander – Mayor – Joe R. Jernigan Sr. (I); Commissioner – Robin Maxham Bland (C), Bobbie Parker (I), Henry G. Spruill (I), Jeanette Ayscue Tinkham (I), Dennis B. Wilder Sr. (I);

Colerain – Mayor – No Filings; Commissioner – Duncan Hughes (I);

Kelford – Mayor – No Filings; James Bland (I), Wayne Bland (C), Frank Harris (I);

Lewiston-Woodville – Mayor – Carl A. Lee (I); Commissioner – Eddie Graham (I); Dayle J. Vaughan (I)

Powellsville – Mayor – Thomas Asbell (I); Commissioner – C.D. Hoggard (I);

Roxobel – Mayor – No Filings; Commissioner – Sammy Ray Pruden (C);

Windsor – Mayor – Robert "Bob" Spivey (I); Commissioner – Jimmy Hoggard (I) and O. Wint Hale (I).