Ridgecroft set to host TIC tournament

Published 12:00 am Saturday, February 12, 2005

AHOSKIE – The tournament pairings are nearly set.

The Tarheel Independent Conference will be holding their annual league basketball tournament at Ridgecroft beginning Monday night, but the final standings couldn’t be set until last night (Friday).

&uot;We’re looking forward to hosting the tournament here next week,&uot; Ridgecroft Athletic Director Doug Cobbs said. &uot;The league tournament is always an exciting time of good basketball, good fellowship and a chance for our student athletes to show off their skills.&uot;

The tourney begins Monday evening with all of the league’s second seeded teams – jayvee girls, jayvee boys, varsity girls and varsity boys – meeting the conference’s seventh-place teams.

In the varsity matchups, the varsity girls of Hobgood Academy will meet Albemarle School while the varsity boys matchup is not set. The seventh seed in that contest will be Albemarle School, but the number two seed with be decided Friday night. It will either be Northeast Academy or Terra Ceia Christian School.

Also of local interest will be Lawrence Academy’s junior varsity boys (the number two seed) facing seventh-seeded Pungo Christian Academy.

Tuesday’s action will be the three-versus-six matchups. The varsity girls game will feature number three Terra Ceia against Pungo. In boy’s action, Hobgood Academy will be the higher seed against Pungo.

The junior varsity action could see Northeast or Terra Ceia facing Albemarle.

Wednesday’s action will feature Lawrence against Northeast in the varsity girls matchup. The determination of which team will finish fourth and which will finish fifth hasn’t been made yet. In the varsity boys game, Lawrence will be the fifth seed as they meet host Ridgecroft.

In junior varsity girls’ action, it will also be Northeast and Lawrence, but again seeds have not been determined.

Thursday night will be the winners of Monday and Tuesday’s contest while Friday will see the number one seeds meet the winners of the four-versus-five games.