ECU to enshrine Ahoskie duo

Published 12:00 am Thursday, September 23, 2004

GREENVILLE – The East Carolina Athletics Hall of Fame will induct four new members into its shrine, bringing the total number of members to 106.

Glenn Dyer (diving), Robert Jones (football), Gary Overton (baseball) and Al Vaughan (baseball) will each be inducted into the ECU Athletics Hall of Fame at a ceremony September 24 on the ECU campus. The four inductees will also be recognized at halftime of the ECU-Cincinnati game on Sept. 25.

Overton and Vaughan are both from Ahoskie.

Dyer, who was killed while serving as a member of the United States Air Force during the Vietnam War, was a three-time All-America diver. He earned All-America accolades in both the one-meter and three-meter dives in 1957, ’59, and ’60, and helped the Pirates to the NAIA National Championship in ’57 and again in ’59. Dyer is the third diver to be voted into the ECU Athletics Hall of Fame.

Jones, the most decorated linebacker in ECU football history, was a consensus All-America choice as a senior in 1991 and one of three finalists for the Butkus Award. Jones was co-captain of the 1991 team that finished ranked No. 9 nationally with an 11-1 record and a Peach Bowl victory. He received freshman All-America honors in 1989 and was an honorable mention All-America player as a sophomore. By the time his senior season rolled around, Jones was a preseason All-American and on both the Butkus and Lombardi Award Watch List. He finished his career with 478 tackles, second most in school history, and became the first Pirate to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. Jones was selected 24th overall by the Dallas Cowboys and went on to win three Super Bowl Championships with Dallas. He played with five teams during his 11-year professional career.

Overton’s association with ECU spans four decades, including three as both player and coach. During his 13-year tenure (1985-1997) as the head baseball coach, Overton compiled an overall record of 427-237-1 to depart as the winningest coach in school history. He guided the Pirates to five NCAA Tournaments, five CAA Tournament championships and two CAA regular season titles. Overton mentored 36 all-conference players, four All-America players, 18 professional players and earned CAA Coach of the Year honors in 1990 and East Region Coach of the Year accolades in 1993. A 1973 graduate of ECU, he currently serves as a lecturer in the ECU School of Health and Human Performance.

Vaughan was an outstanding baseball player during the late 1950s. He earned All-North State Conference honors as a junior and senior. Vaughan capped off his career by earning all-state and all-district honors as a senior. He was the co-captain of ECC’s only undefeated conference championship team and held the school stolen base record from 1959-76.