Incumbents file for reelection

Published 12:00 am Thursday, April 29, 2004

Incumbents are dominating the local election scene as week number one of the filing period for the July primary is drawing to a close.

The filing period for local and statewide political offices began at 12 noon on Monday. Candidates have until 12 noon on May 7 to file.

As of yesterday (Wednesday), five incumbents have filed for reelection in Bertie County. Two of those seats belong to current County Commissioners – L.C. Hoggard III (District 1) and Norman Cherry Sr. (District 4).

Also filing for reelection in Bertie County are incumbents Belinda S. White (Register of Deeds) along with Board of Education members Ronnie M. Speller (District 1) and Gloria C. Lee (District 5).

Only one other filing has been reported in Bertie County where Patricia Ferguson of Colerain has tossed her hat into the ring for the North Carolina District 4 Senate seat currently held by Robert Holloman of Ahoskie. Ferguson, a former member of the Bertie County Commissioners, ran unsuccessfully two years ago for what was then the State Senate District 3 seat (Bertie, Edgecombe, Martin, Tyrrell and Washington counties). Under the new redistricting plan, Bertie has been moved back into District 4, joining Chowan, Gates, Halifax, Hertford, Northampton and Perquimans counties.

Holloman has refiled for his State Senate seat, officially entering the race on Monday in Winton at the Hertford County Board of Elections office.

Five other incumbents also filed on Monday in Hertford County – Commissioners Vernice Howard (District 1) and Dupont Davis (District 2) along with Kathleen Wright (Register of Deeds) and Superior Court Judge Cy Grant of Ahoskie.

As of Wednesday, District 3 Hertford County Commissioner Brenda Greene had not yet filed for reelection. Greene was appointed two years ago by the Commissioners to fill Holloman’s unexpired term following his election to the State Senate. That appointment went against the recommendation of the Hertford County Democratic Party, who submitted John Pierce’s name for consideration. On Monday, Pierce, of Winton, filed for Greene’s seat.

Also on Monday, veteran District 5 State House of Representative Howard Hunter Jr. filed for another term in office. The newly aligned 5th House District now encompasses Bertie, Gates, Hertford and Perquimans counties.

In Northampton County, veteran District 1 Commissioner R. Jennings White of Conway has chosen not to seek reelection. As of yesterday, the only candidate to file for that open seat is Rev. James E. Hester, also of Conway.

Incumbent District 2 County Commissioner Virginia Spruill of Rich Square has filed for reelection. Spruill is currently serving her second term as Chairwoman of the Board.

Four seats on the Northampton County Board of Education are up for reelection. To date, incumbents Catherine B. Moody and Clinton Williams have filed while William &uot;Bill&uot; Little and Roland H. Whitted have yet to file.

Northampton County Register of Deeds Pauline Deloatch has filed for reelection.

Political newcomer Michael Wray of Gaston filed for the newly created State House of Representatives District 27 (all of Northampton and Warren counties along with a portion of Vance County). Wray is the Chairman of the Northampton County Democratic Party.

To date, North Carolina 1st District U.S. Congressman Frank Ballance has not filed for another term in office. However, three candidates have entered that race – Republicans Greg Dority of Washington and Jerry Williford of Oxford along with Christine Fitch of Wilson.

The Primary election will be conducted statewide on July 20. Absentee voting begins on May 31. If a run-off is needed in any of the state or local races, that election is scheduled for Aug. 17.

The General Election is set for Nov. 2.