Futrell named Area Director

Published 12:00 am Monday, January 26, 2004

AHOSKIE – Roanoke-Chowan Human Services Center’s Board Chairman, Johnnie Farmer, announces the appointment of Joy B. Futrell as Area Director.

Futrell has served as Interim Area Director since the retirement of Joe Jenkins in June 2003.

Futrell began her career at RCHSC in the business department in 1990 and was appointed Finance/Business Manager in 1992. She received her BSBA degree from East Carolina University and is currently working on her MBA.

Farmer states, &uot;The board is pleased to appoint Mrs. Futrell to the position of Area Director. She has been integrally involved in many aspects of the Center operation for many years and has experience in both the business and clinical aspects of the Center. During her management of RCHSC finances, the Center has expanded the Union facility, constructed a satellite office in Northampton County and constructed a state of the art Detox Center. Mrs. Futrell has supervised the development of the Center’s management information systems, auditing and contracting. The Area Board looks forward to working with Mrs. Futrell as RCHSC meets the challenges of system reform.&uot;

In discussing her new position, Futrell says, &uot;I am grateful for the confidence the Board has shown in their selection of me as Area Director. I am privileged to have so many talented and dedicated employees who work together as a team to provide quality services to our consumers. The transition of RCHSC from an Area Program to an LME (Local Management Entity) will be challenging. RCHSC will use the challenges that lay ahead as an opportunity to develop a more flexible program with more choices for our consumers.&uot;

Futrell grew up in Murfreesboro and currently resides in Ahoskie with her husband, Frankie and their daughters, Taylor and Katie. She is a member of Meherrin Baptist Church.

RCHSC is a local Mental Health Center providing mental health, developmental disabilities and substance abuse services to clients in Bertie, Gates, Hertford and Northampton counties.