Canvass reveals minor changes

Published 12:00 am Monday, November 10, 2003

WINTON – The winners remain the same, but the vote totals did change.

On Friday, the Hertford County Board of Elections conducted their official canvass of each vote cast in last week’s municipal elections. That post-election ritual did reveal several changes in the vote totals, especially in Ahoskie where an error in Precinct 3 increased the turnout by 60-plus voters.

&uot;On election night, only one of the voting devices at Ahoskie 3 reported the totals,&uot; said Shelia Fleetwood, Elections Board Director. &uot;We caught it after an audit of the number of names in the record book did not match the totals on the voting devices used at the precinct. However, the error did not change the outcome of the election.&uot;

In the Mayor’s race, 62 additional votes (565 compared to the 503 reported last week) were found during the canvass. Challenger Linda Blackburn, who upset four-term incumbent Arthur Lee Wiggins, picked-up 32 additional votes, bringing her official total to 338. Wiggins gained 28 votes, finishing with 202.

Incumbent Ward A Town Councilwoman Elaine Myers was credited with each of the six additional votes discovered in the canvass. That increased her victory over challenger Addie Ruth Holloman, 269-83.

Ward B Councilman Larry &uot;Cutt&uot; Vann, who ran unopposed, collected 53 additional votes, officially finishing with 146 ballots.

There were minor changes in the voter totals in Murfreesboro and Winton.

In Murfreesboro, one voter was left out of last week’s report. That raised the turnout from 333 to 334 voters. Candidates picking-up that vote were incumbent Mayor Ben McLean (an official tally of 270) along with veteran Town Council member Bill Stephens (256) and challenger Thomas Schucker (152).

The tallies of two additional voters were discovered in Winton. Collecting those votes were incumbent Town Council members Wesley Liverman (+2, 59 official ballots), Carolyn Bazemore (+1; 56), Charles Jones (+1; 58), Bernard Moore (+1; 56) and William McCoy Pierce (+1; 68) along with Bobbie Davenport (+1; 22), who lost in her write-in campaign bid to unseat incumbent Mayor Calvin S. Hall who won with 59 votes.

Friday’s canvass revealed no changes in the vote totals at the Como, Cofield and Harrellsville precincts.