Bertie elects two new mayors

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, November 5, 2003

WINDSOR – Voters in two Bertie County towns apparently felt the need for a change in leadership as new mayors were elected in Kelford and Lewiston-Woodville during Tuesday’s municipal elections.

All votes are unofficial until the Bertie County Board of Elections conducts a Friday canvass of all polling places in the county.

The highest voter turnout in the county came in Lewiston-Woodville where 177 voters cast ballots. There, incumbent Town Commissioner Carl A. Lee (136 votes) won easily over current Mayor Jim T. Wiggins (37).

In a tight mayoral race in Kelford, challenger Wade &uot;Tim&uot; Emory topped the three-man field with 25 votes. Fellow challenger Wayne Bland placed second with 21 votes while incumbent Norman &uot;J.N.&uot; Parker trailed with 17 votes.

There will also be a new face on the Kelford Town Council as challenger Frank Harris led a seven-member field of candidates with 41 votes. The remaining four seats on the Council were earned by incumbents Linda C. Hathaway (39), Bailey Parker (35), James H. Bland Jr. (34) and Tierce &uot;Bull&uot; Ruffin (29). Challenger James C. Evans Jr. (21) and incumbent Timmy Eaton (19) rounded out the field.

Two fresh faces will be seen on the Lewiston-Woodville Town Council where political newcomers Eddie Graham (102 votes for Woodville District Commissioner) and Dana C. Wiggins (38 votes for Lewiston District Commissioner) both earned positions of leadership within the town. Lewiston District incumbents Chris B. Cordon (59 votes) and Dayle Joyner Vaughan (57) won reelection, as did Woodville District incumbent Jim Early II (53).

Incumbents dominated the remainder of Tuesday’s municipal races in Bertie County.

Askewville (20 ballots cast): Current Mayor Meredith White (17 votes) will return to office, as will incumbent Town Commissioners Mary Lou Jernigan and Roy Johnson, each with 19 votes. The third Council seat in Askewville was earned by former County Commissioner Elbert Ray Bryant. He also received 19 votes.

Aulander (64 ballots cast): Each of the incumbent Council members were returned to office – Mayor Joe R. Jernigan Sr. (46 votes) along with Town Commissioners Dennis B. Wilder Sr. (53), Bobbie J. Parker (43), Mary Jane Tayloe (43), Henry G. Spruill (41) and Jeanette A. Tinkham (41). There were six write-in votes for mayor and four for Town Council.

Colerain (49 ballots cast): Challenger Bill Harrell topped the field as he garnered 39 votes for a Town Commissioners seat. Incumbent Mayor Burney Baker (38 votes) will be joined on Town Council by the familiar faces of Commissioners Duncan Hughes (29), Carroll Northcott (28), Leroy Farless (27) and Robert C. Fringer (27). Receiving write-in votes were Tony Rawls (10) and Milton Felton (4).

Powellsville (52 ballots cast): Mayor Thomas Asbell (44 votes) along with Commissioners Joseph T. Watford (47) and C.D. Hoggard (37), all incumbents, were returned to office. There they will be joined by incumbent Ernie Carter who mustered 25 write-in votes. Four others received write-in votes.

Roxobel (30 ballots cast): An incumbent dominated field earned reelection – Mayor Gary Johnson (26 votes) along with Town Commissioners Henry Boschen (24), Carroll Minton (23), Manuel L. Joyner Sr. (22) and Alton H. Parker (22).

Windsor (132 ballots cast): Challenger Hoyt Cooper led the way with 113 votes for a spot on the Town Council. It is believed that Cooper is the first African-American elected by ballot in the town of Windsor. He will be joined on Town Council by incumbent Commissioners Bobby N. Brown (99) and Charles W. Fulk (94).