Tiny Kelford faces large election

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, August 6, 2003

WINDSOR – As one of Bertie County’s smallest towns, Kelford is thought of by many as just a bump in the road en route to the Perdue processing plant.

However, this small town (population 245) can boast of the distinction of having the largest race in this November’s municipal elections.

The filing period for the Nov. 4 election ended Aug. 1. When all the required paperwork was completed, Kelford voters can choose between three men vying for the mayor’s seat as well as a crowded field of seven candidates running for the five spots on the Town Commission.

According to information obtained from the Bertie County Board of Elections, incumbent Kelford Mayor Norman (J.N.) Parker faces opposition from Wayne Bland and Wade (Tim) Emory for the town’s highest elected position.

In the meantime, Kelford’s five incumbent commissioners all re-filed for office – Tierce (Bull) Ruffin, James H. Bland Jr., Bailey Parker, Timmy Eaton and Linda C. Hathaway. They will be challenged by newcomers Frank Harris and James C. Evans Jr.

A race has also developed for mayor in Lewiston-Woodville. Incumbent Mayor Jim T. Wiggins has filed for another term in office, but he faces a challenge from newcomer Carl A. Lee.

In the race for Town Commissioner in Lewiston-Woodville, incumbents Dayle Joyner Vaughan and Chris B. Cordan will be joined by political newcomer Dana C. Wiggins in the Lewiston District. The two Commissioner seats in the Woodville District will be sought by incumbent James (Jim) Early and newcomer Eddie J. Graham.

With the exception of three other challengers, the remainder of the municipal elections in Bertie County is dominated by incumbents.

Askewville: Mayor Meredith White and Town Commissioners Mary Lou Jernigan and Roy Johnson, all incumbents, have all filed for reelection. Also filing for a spot on the Askewville Town Commission is Elbert R. Bryant, a former Bertie County Commissioner.

Aulander: The field is full of incumbents – Mayor Joe R. Jernigan Jr. along with Town Commissioners Bobbie J. Parker, Henry G. Spruill, Mary J. Tayloe, Jeanette A. Tinkham and Dennis B. Wilder Sr. Wilder was recently appointed as a Commissioner to fill the unexpired term of the late Rev. Frank Lee, who passed away in June.

Colerain: Incumbents Burney Baker (Mayor) and Town Council members Robert C. Fringer, Leroy Farless, Carroll Northcott and Duncan Hughes have re-filed. They will be joined by newcomer Bill Harrell who is seeking a seat on the Council.

Powellsville: Mayor Thomas Asbell and Town Commissioners C.D. Hoggard and Joseph T. Watford are each seeking another term in office.

Roxobel: Veteran Town Commissioners Henry Boschen, Manuel L. Joyner Sr., Alton H. Parker and Carroll Minton will be joined by incumbent Mayor Gary Johnson on the November ballot.

Windsor: Incumbent Town Commissioners Bobby N. Brown and Charles W. Devon Fulk have re-filed. Newcomer Hoyt Cooper has filed for the seat currently occupied by incumbent Commissioner J.W. &uot;Russ&uot; Russell Jr., who has chosen not to seek reelection. Longtime Windsor Mayor Bob Spivey is not up for reelection this year.