Three are A-C

Published 12:00 am Saturday, June 10, 2006

EDENTON – Three local players were among those chosen All-Northeastern Coastal Conference by the league’s baseball coaches.

Bertie High School placed Matt White and Lance Thomas on the list while Hertford County’s Heath Britt was all chosen all-conference.

The three were part of a 20-person list of those who were honored by the 2-A/3-A league after baseball season.

Joining them on the list were:

* Edenton – Landon Jordan, Broc Sutton, Brian Leary, Stephen Brown and John Layton;

* Currituck – Zack Beasley, Eric Snow, Sherwood Johnson and Brandon Dozier;

* Northeastern – Kirk Higgins, Gabriel Brickhouse and Tyler Stallings;

* First Flight – Jacob Godfrey, Buddy Carlson and Dusty Harris; and

* Pasquotank – Robbie Jones and Drew Chesson.

Broc Sutton of Edenton was chosen as the Player of the Year in the Northeastern Coastal Conference while Currituck’s Jeff Rhodes was named Coach of the Year in the league.

Edenton won the NCC with a spotless 12-0 record whie Currituck finished second with a 9-3 mark. They were followed in order by Northeastern, First Flight, Pasquotank, Bertie and Hertford County.